Rifle Paper Co Anna dress

I loved my first Anna dress so much that I knew it wouldn’t be long before I made another. This one a little more wearable as my first is a maxi dress and feels very dressy!I substituted the Anna skirt out for a pleated skirt as the original skirt has too many panels and eats fabric. The Rifle Paper Co rayon is stunning, one of my favourite fabrics ever, but it’s only 110 cm wide and therefore limited. I only had 2 metres and I used every last scrap making this dress. I have a tiny fat quarter sized square left!


The dress is based off a Dorothy Perkins dress which is purple but a similar style to this. However that one literally fell apart in the wash, the waist ties came apart from the side seams after 2 washes!
To copy that dress I added a waistband which gives a neat finish to the insides and a pleated skirt. 

 
There was a bit of excess in the back. I had to take 2 inches out and resew the zip! I’m not sure why as my other version was fine except I’ve lost a fair bit of weight since that one. 


I was playing around with my new tripod and remote on Christmas Day hence why I’m wedged in between our table and sofa! 

I absolutely love the style of the Anna but I’m a little dubious on the drafting especially as the front only just fit but the back was miles too big, a problem I’ve never had before?

I love wearing handmade clothes at work, it feels like a really special treat and brightens my day up! I’m really trying to sew a mix of work and weekend clothes so that I get the most out of every outfit. 

Happy new year everyone!

Leave a Reply

