Making a coat

I’ve been thinking about making a coat for a couple of years now. I’ve had my current blue duffle coat for 4 years and it really needs an upgrade. There’s so many coat patterns out there that it’s taken me this long to decide what I want!

My Pinterest board for a coat has a mix of the coats I need in my winter wardrobe. 

The Ninot coat ticks a few boxes 

I’d love one in a black wool coating to mimic a Cabbages and Roses coat sold a few years ago. 

I also fancied the Closet Case Files Kelly anorak but it’s not lined and one problem with my current duffle coat is it’s not warm enough. I’ll wait until Heather releases the lining pack. 

I also picked up a copy of vogue 1266 at Sew Up North but I’m a little nervous about it being my first coat and I can’t find any Blackwatch coating to make it from. 


This morning Emily was gifted a red duffle coat and it immediately reminded me how much I loved duffle coats and I really wanted a red one. My last two winter coats have been duffle so why break with tradition!?

So of course I’m making Grainline Studios Cascade duffle coat in red wool coating. 


I’d love a tartan version but I haven’t found the fabric so for now a red one will do. I also feel like I could make this in a twill and add snaps and save myself buying another pattern šŸ™ˆ

So that’s my January/February/March sewing plan!

You may have noticed I’ve swapped my domain and moved to WordPress which I should have done years ago. It’s much more intuitive and easy to use. Hopefully this means I may be able to blog more!

Leave a Reply

